my first (of many to come) activism experience: Slut Walk 2016

On August 6th I had the absolute pleasure of checking something off my bucket list: walking in Slut Walk. I wanted to walk it since it last happened in Toronto which I believe was two years ago, but I only found out about it on the day of. I now plan to be present every year I possibly can that it continues because it was such a great feeling to be a part of it.

When we got there there was a more diverse group of people than i expected. There was representation from different races and genders and ages, which was a pleasant surprise to me. Seeing two families with their kids (all less than 5 years old I think) decked out in signs that said things like “I’m 4 years old and understand consent, do you?” gave me CHILLS to see. It made me so happy to see parents raising their kids in such an open and SMART way, the exact way I plan to raise my own. It is important for EVERYONE to understand consent and equality and that means people of any age.

IMG_9064.jpg

They taught us a bunch of sassy chants and we set off up Church street, with drums beating and signs in the air. It was so cool to be a part of such a big movement and group of people who all shared the same (logical) view on things.

IMG_9073.jpg

One interesting part was having ‘The Rebel’ there, a conservative right wing web publication type thing, who were filming us and taking pictures all the while looking smug and sassy. They posted this literal piece of SHIT on their site, but don’t click on it because they don’t deserve views. This shitty set of 10 sentences is so closed minded and ridiculous, but we gave them the finger/told them off every chance we got.

I know I want a career in some sort of feminist activism and being a part of this event really made me more excited. I can’t wait to be involved in things like this for many years to come, and hopefully one day be running my own.

IMG_9076.jpg

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

