bi-weekly top 5 / #6

This is being posted a bit late because the past couple weeks have been hectic but also exciting! In the past two weeks finished up at my summer job, headed off to the cottage for a week, came home, packed up and moved 2 hours away from home! Here is a little more detail on my highlights.

  1. the cottage
    this is a pretty obvious one because it’s kind of the highlight of my year anyways. I had a lovely time with my family, my cousin and his parents, my grandparents and our puppies just relaxing by the lake, reading, tanning and eating good food.
    IMG_9371
  2. going for drinks with my coworkers
    I met up with my co-workers on the 27th at the Mill Street Brewery for drinks and food. It was so fun to get to see them again after leaving a week prior, and I had a delicious beer-long-island iced tea!
  3. Reading some good books
    I got to sit and do some reading at the cottage because I actually was able to relax for once. I spent most of the week drinking coolers, sunbathing and reading, so it was great. I really enjoyed When She Woke by Hillary Jordan, a dystopian book about a woman who has an abortion (commits murder) and has to navigate life as a ‘chrome’ (criminal) and has a whole coming of age figuring out herself experience. Also Escape by Carolyn Jessop was a great memoir about a woman’s experience in the FLDS and polygamy. Follow me on Goodreads to see what I’m always reading!
  4. Moving!!
    I moved into my new apartment at school on August 31 so that I could begin my temp job at my university’s bookstore. Despite some brutal cramps all day, moving was super exciting, also grocery shopping while overwhelming made me feel very adult. I still don’t feel quite settled, but maybe once I am I will post some photos of my new room! Below is a selfie I took with my dog before we parted ways for the next 5 weeks….
    IMG_9409
  5. A sweet surprise from my lovely boyfriend
    I moved in on Wednesday expecting to be on my own for the night and lonely, when Calum texted me asking me what my plans were for dinner. I kept my cool until he admitted he was in Peterborough too, and then I squealed a little. He came over and we hung out and played cribbage and went to bed and it was so nice to have him here with me.
Leave a Reply

